Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Roooooxanne you don’t have to put on the red light…” Go on sing the next line you know the song, it’s a quintessential 80’s classic…

I don’t really know what is up with me but I have been watching movies from the 80’s every night for the past week or so.  In the past I don’t know two weeks-ish I’ve watched: Romancing the Stone, The Jewel of the Nile, Moonstruck, The Secret to My Success, The Legend of Billie Jean, Pretty in Pink, Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club, and Adventures in Baby Sitting!  I know it’s crazy isn’t it.  Everyone who knows me knows that John Hughes is one of my all time favorite directors, I love his style of story telling.

I have to admit that I loved the eighties, I was all of fourteen when they ended so good times for me.  I like to say that I loved the 70’s as well I was five when they ended, really fun times for me!

My 80’s fascination gets worse, this one goes back to December.  I got a new pair of sunglasses, I was trying to hurry and use up my insurance allowance before the year ended.  For some reason we always procrastinate and end up rushing to the eye Dr. in December.  Anyway what brand and style of sunglasses did I get?  Yes Ray Ban Wayfarer’s!  They are awesome although I prefer the tint on my older glasses.

I also love 80’s bands and love listening to classics like Duran Duran and The Thompson Twins.  For the past few years we went to see Def Leppard play in concert they just happened to be touring two years in a row.  The first time was at Fiddlers Green and the second time was at The Pepsi Center.  Both shows were amazing, they are such seasoned performers and really know how to put on a show.

Finally the other strange 80’s thing I’ve been doing lately, and this one is really different…Ok so I enjoy looking at different China patterns, I love to look at the new patterns that come out, older more classic patterns, I like to see what the various companies decide to discontinue, it is just something that I am interested in.  Well lately I have been almost obsessed with this one particular pattern it’s called “Classic Flair Peach” by Mikasa.  It is SO 80’s, in fact I first fell in love with it in 1986 when I went shopping with my Mother and Sister.  My Sister was getting married and she was picking out China patterns for herself.  I was with them and spent all of my time looking while they talked to the salesperson and ordered and paid for my Sisters China.  I distinctly remember this pattern and I loved it.  I kind of rediscovered it recently and it just makes me happy.

My husband is older than me and actually graduated from High School in the 80’s.  He joined the Army and was even stationed in West Germany guarding the border between East and West.  All of his memories from the 80’s aren’t as happy and fond as mine are but he still thinks its hilarious that I get into these weird moods.

What is your favorite decade?  What do you remember and love about the 80’s?

One more thing…for anyone who reads this and is also into old China patterns Etsy is a good place to look.  Especially if you are looking for patterns from the 1970’s.  Like all those 70’s giant flower patterns, if they make you happy and feel nostalgic then check out Etsy!

