Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Another post about family dynamics!

bread and stones

I know weird right? You offer bread and they offer a stone, seems to work here, makes sense to me…

How do you teach people that it takes effort on both sides?

Honestly?

When people, family members, complain because of whatever, they don’t feel they get enough attention, or they want x and you gave y, how does one communicate that effort is required on both ends?

And believe me I am fully aware, especially with extended family, that effort generally will be one sided and rarely reciprocated.

There could be a million reasons for that one, distance, time, age, those are the nice excuses.  In my opinion I think a basic attitude of not really giving a darn is more appropriate and accurate but that could be the cynic in me coming out.

But really when it comes to family that are complaining about this stuff what do you do? How do you handle it? How do you explain that they sort of have to meet you half way, they will need to make some effort?

Curious to hear what you have to say so please share…

